Materials & grades

12L14 / 11SMnPb30 / SUM24L leaded free-machining steel: equivalents 230M07 Pb (EN1A Pb) and 1.0718

12L14 is a resulphurized and rephosphorized low-carbon steel with 0.15–0.35 % lead added, rated about 170 % machinability against 1212 at 100 %. It is the free-machining carbon steel of choice for screw-machine parts and is not normally welded or heat treated.

Names by standard

What it is called in each region

RegionSystemDesignationNormaMatch
USAAISI/SAE12L14SAE J403; ASTM A29 / A576Same material
UNSG12144—Same material
UKBS 970230M07 PbLeaded version of 230M07 (lead 0.15–0.35 % where specified, Smiths). Superseded: BS 970 has been withdrawn in favour of European standards.BS 970-1Closest equivalent
BS 970 (1955 EN series)EN1A PbSuperseded name for leaded 230M07.—Closest equivalent
EUEN 10027-1 name11SMnPb30Carbon ≤0.14 %, manganese 0.90–1.30 %, sulphur 0.27–0.33 %, lead 0.20–0.35 %.EN ISO 683-4 (formerly EN 10087)Closest equivalent
EN 10027-2 number1.0718Material number of 11SMnPb30.EN ISO 683-4Closest equivalent
EN 10027-1 name11SMnPb37 (1.0737)Higher-sulphur variant (0.34–0.40 %) that some tables pair with 12L14.EN ISO 683-4Closest equivalent
DIN (legacy)9SMnPb28 (1.0718) / 9SMnPb36 (1.0737)Superseded German names for 11SMnPb30 and 11SMnPb37.—Closest equivalent
ÍndiaIS 1570 (Part 3)11C10S25 (lead by agreement)The schedule has no leaded grade; it says lead and other elements may be added when specified.IS 1570 (Part 3):1979; IS 4431Closest equivalent
JapanJIS G 4804SUM24LCarbon ≤0.15 %, manganese 0.85–1.15 %, phosphorus 0.04–0.09 % and sulphur 0.26–0.35 %, the same as 12L14. Lead is 0.10–0.35 % against 0.15–0.35 %.JIS G 4804Closest equivalent

On equivalence

  • Sources disagree on the European equivalent. Kipp and Studer list 12L14 against 11SMnPb30 (1.0718); Total Materia's SUM 24 L record lists 1.0718 and 12L14; the AWS comparison puts 12L14 against 11SMnPb37 (1.0737). Composition favours 11SMnPb30 (manganese 0.90–1.30 %, sulphur 0.27–0.33 %), but 12L14 allows more phosphorus. Both are kept at closest.
  • 12L14 is not equal to any single EN grade. 11SMnPb30 allows carbon ≤0.14 % against ≤0.15 %, manganese up to 1.30 % against 1.15 %, and phosphorus up to 0.11 % against 0.09 %, and has a narrower sulphur range.
  • UK 230M07 Pb (EN1A Pb) is the leaded version of the BS 970 free-cutting steel. Smiths cross-references the non-leaded grade to SAE 1213 and 1215 and offers it leaded.
  • India has no leaded free-cutting grade in IS 1570 (Part 3) or IS 4431; the schedule allows lead to be added when specified. Indian buyers normally specify 11C10S25 with lead by agreement.
  • JIS SUM24L matches the carbon, manganese, phosphorus and sulphur ranges of 12L14 (Kobelco's JIS G 4804 table); its lead range of 0.10–0.35 % has a lower minimum than 12L14's 0.15 %. The AWS comparison also lists SUM22L and SUM23L against 11SMnPb30.
  • Lead restrictions: the RoHS exemption for lead as an alloying element in steel for machining purposes allows up to 0.35 % lead by weight in electrical and electronic equipment. It was renewed by Delegated Directive (EU) 2025/2364, where the machining-steel entry is now 6(a)-I and runs to 30 June 2027. Vehicles fall under the separate End-of-Life Vehicles Directive, whose Annex II also lists lead in steel for machining; its current text was not checked here. The exemption is time-limited and reviewed periodically, so confirm the current text before specifying leaded steel for EU sales. The default RoHS limit is 0.1 % lead.
  • Non-leaded alternatives are 1215 and the 11SMn30 and 11SMn37 steels; see the 1215 page.

Chemical composition

Composition limits, mass %

Element12L14USA · SAE J403230M07 (Pb where specified)UK · BS 970-1:198311SMnPb30 (1.0718)EU · EN ISO 683-411SMnPb37 (1.0737)EU · EN ISO 683-411C10S25 (base steel)Índia · IS 1570 (Part 3):1979SUM24LJapan · JIS G 4804
C≤0.15≤0.15≤0.14≤0.140.08–0.15≤0.15
Si——≤0.05≤0.05≤0.10—
Mn0.85–1.150.90–1.300.90–1.301.00–1.500.80–1.200.85–1.15
P0.04–0.09≤0.07≤0.11≤0.11≤0.0600.04–0.09
S0.26–0.350.25–0.350.27–0.330.34–0.400.20–0.300.26–0.35
Pb0.15–0.350.15–0.350.20–0.350.20–0.35when specified0.10–0.35

Mechanical properties

Strength and hardness

ConditionTensile strengthYield strengthElongationHardness
Hot rolled (12L14)Estimated minimum, SAE J1397 basis as listed by ICAST; bar size not statedICAST SAE J403 / J1397 UNS G12144, hot rolled390 MPa57 ksi230 MPa33 ksi≥22 %121 HB (ICAST lists it as a maximum)
Cold drawn (12L14)Estimated minimum, SAE J1397 basis as listed by ICAST; bar size not statedICAST SAE J403 / J1397 UNS G12144, cold drawn540 MPa78 ksi410 MPa59 ksi≥10 %163 HB (ICAST lists it as a maximum)
Cold drawn +C (11SMnPb30 / 11SMnPb37)Specified, d >10–16 mmISO 683-7 per Swiss Steel; EN 10277-3 per Roymech490–760 MPa71–110 ksi≥410 MPa≥59 ksi≥7 %—
Cold drawn +C (11SMnPb30 / 11SMnPb37)Specified, d >16–40 mmISO 683-7 per Swiss Steel; EN 10277-3 per Roymech460–710 MPa67–103 ksi≥375 MPa≥54 ksi≥8 %—
Cold drawn +C (11SMnPb30 / 11SMnPb37)Specified, d >40–63 mmISO 683-7 per Swiss Steel; EN 10277-3 per Roymech400–650 MPa58–94 ksi≥305 MPa≥44 ksi≥9 %—
Hot rolled or normalized (11C10S25 base steel)Specified range, ruling sections up to 150 mmIS 1570 (Part 3):1979, Table 2370–490 MPa54–71 ksi—≥22 %—

In practice

Behaviour, heat treatment and uses

Characteristics

  • Machinability is rated about 170 % on the AISI scale where 1212 is 100 % (Enerpac, Engineering Toolbox), higher than 1215 at 136 %.
  • Lead (0.15–0.35 %) is present as fine particles that lubricate the cut and shorten the chip. A supplier note adds that lead reduces overall strength a little.
  • Carbon is 0.15 % maximum, so strength comes from cold drawing rather than heat treatment. Smiths notes that leaded EN1A can be case hardened for wear resistance.
  • Weldability is poor: the sulphur and lead that make the steel free machining also make it unsuitable for welding. A supplier page does not recommend welding or heat treating 12L14.
  • Lead is restricted in some markets: see the equivalence notes.

Heat treatment

  • Normally used as drawn; no through hardening is possible at 0.15 % maximum carbon.
  • Smiths notes that EN1A (230M07), in leaded and non-leaded forms, can be case hardened to improve wear resistance. Temperatures for 12L14 itself were not found in a sourced datasheet.
  • For comparison, Interlloy's schedule for the similar non-leaded 230M07 / AISI 1215 class gives carburizing at about 900–920 °C (1650–1690 °F) with a water-quench case hardening from 760–790 °C (1400–1455 °F).

Usos típicos

  • Screw-machine parts: spacers, bushings, studs, couplings and fittings
  • Hydraulic and pneumatic fittings turned in large volumes
  • Components that need the highest cutting speed and good surface finish
  • Parts where strength is not critical

Free-machining steels

Similar grades compared

GrauC %Mn %Tensile, first listed condition
12L14 / 11SMnPb30≤0.150.85–1.15390 MPa
1117 / 15SMn130.14–0.201.00–1.30430 MPa
1144 / 44SMn280.40–0.481.35–1.65670 MPa
1215 / 11SMn37≤0.090.75–1.05540 MPa

Composition from the US standard where one exists, otherwise the first standard listed on each grade's page. Strength conditions differ between grades; open a grade for its full table.

Perguntas respondidas

Common questions

What is the equivalent of 12L14 steel?

The closest names are 11SMnPb30 (1.0718) in Europe, 230M07 Pb (EN1A Pb) in the UK and SUM24L in Japan. India has no leaded free-cutting grade in IS 1570 (Part 3), so 11C10S25 is specified with lead by agreement.

What is the difference between 12L14 and 1215?

12L14 contains 0.15–0.35 % lead and allows up to 0.15 % carbon, and is rated about 170 % machinability against 1215's 136 %. 1215 has no lead and only 0.09 % carbon maximum.

Is 12L14 RoHS compliant?

Lead above 0.1 % exceeds the RoHS limit unless an exemption applies. Annex III exemption 6(a) covers steel for machining up to 0.35 % lead, but it is time-limited, so check its current status. Non-leaded 1215 or 11SMn30 avoids the question.

Can 12L14 be welded or heat treated?

It is not recommended. Lead and sulphur make welding unreliable, and with 0.15 % carbon maximum it cannot be through hardened. EN1A grades can be case hardened where wear resistance is needed.

Is 12L14 stronger than 1018?

No. Estimated minimum tensile strength cold drawn is 540 MPa (78 ksi) for 12L14 on the SAE J1397 basis. It is chosen for machinability, not strength.

From the Corona catalog

Need a part made to this specification?

Send the drawing, the material or grade, the finish, the quantity and the delivery country. The team reviews the requirement and the manufacturing route.

Iniciar uma consulta

Keep reading

References

Sources

  1. ICAST: SAE J403 / SAE J1397 UNS G12144, Cold Drawn — SAE J403 composition and J1397 estimated properties.
  2. ICAST: SAE J403 / SAE J1397 UNS G12144, Hot Rolled
  3. Total Materia: JIS SUM 24 L (G 4804:2021) — Carbon, manganese and phosphorus limits; equivalents list 12L14, 11SMnPb30, 1.0718.
  4. Titanium Industries: carbon steel AISI 12L14 — Lead effect on strength and the welding and heat treating caution.
  5. Smiths Metal Centres: EN1A technical datasheet — 230M07 / EN1A composition, leaded (+Pb) option, cross-reference to SAE 1213 and 1215.
  6. Macsteel: bright bar 230M07 (EN1A) data sheet — BS 970-1:1983 composition limits and expected cold drawn properties for 230M07.
  7. Swiss Steel Group (Steeltec): SwissCut technical datasheet, free-cutting steels — Melt analysis to EN ISO 683-4 and cold drawn properties to ISO 683-7 for 11SMn30, 11SMnPb30 and 11SMnPb37.
  8. Roymech: EN 10277 bright steel products, free-cutting steels — Composition and cold drawn properties of 11SMn30, 11SMnPb30, 11SMn37, 11SMnPb37, 15SMn13 and 44SMn28 by diameter band.
  9. AWS: international standards comparison (EN 10087 free-cutting steels) — German-language cross-reference of 11SMn30, 11SMnPb30, 11SMn37, 11SMnPb37 with SAE, BS and JIS names.
  10. IS 1570 (Part 3):1979 Schedules for wrought steels: carbon and carbon manganese free cutting steels (public copy) — Composition and tensile limits for 10C8S10, 14C14S14, 25C12S14, 40C10S18, 11C10S25 and 40C15S12.
  11. Enerpac: metal machinability ratings chart (AISI, percent of a free-machining reference steel) — Lists 1018 78 %, 1117 91 %, 1144 76 % (annealed 85 %), 1212 100 %, 12L14 170 %, 1215 136 %. Its footnote still cites B1112 as the reference.
  12. Engineering Toolbox: machinability of metals — Same AISI ratings (1117 91 %, 1144 76 %, 1215 136 %, 12L14 170 %).
  13. PMPA Craftsman's Cribsheet 58: Relative machinability of materials — States that carbon and alloy steels are compared with 1212 at 100 %.
  14. PMPA: Update on EU RoHS exemptions for lead in steel, copper alloys and aluminium (Annex III 6(a), (b), (c)) — Quotes exemption 6(a) wording (steel for machining up to 0.35 % lead) and the 0.1 % RoHS limit. 2014 text; exemption dates have been revised since.
  15. SGS: RoHS exemption 6(a), lead in steel for machining — Lists exemption 6(a) with an expiry date and the later 6(a)-I entry.
  16. Commission Directive (EU) 2016/774 amending Annex II to Directive 2000/53/EC (ELV) — End-of-life vehicles lead exemption for steel for machining purposes up to 0.35 % lead.
  17. Kobelco: wire rods and bars specification tables, JIS G 4804 sulfur and sulfur compound free-cutting steel (2008 revision) — JIS G 4804 limits for SUM22, SUM23, SUM24L, SUM25, SUM31 and SUM43: C, Mn, P, S and Pb.
  18. BBN Steel Stores: JIS G4804 equivalent material — Second source for JIS SUM23, SUM24L, SUM25, SUM31 and SUM43 C, Mn, P, S and Pb limits.
  19. TÜV: Directive (EU) 2025/2364 amending the RoHS exemption for lead as an alloying element in steel, aluminium and copper — Entries 6(a), 6(a)-I (machining steel, 0.35 %, to 30 June 2027) and 6(a)-II.
  20. RoHS Guide: RoHS Annex III lead exemptions — Same entries and dates; default limit 0.1 % lead per homogeneous material.

Values summarize published limits and typical data. The governing standard and the current edition control; check them before specifying.